I. THE BOARD OF REGENTS

The management and control of Washburn University is vested in a Board of Regents. Members serve four year terms and are selected as follows:

- 1. Three Members: appointed by the Mayor with approval of the governing body of the city of Topeka, one from each of the three Topeka state senatorial districts.
- 2. Three members: appointed by the Governor. The appointees must be residents of Kansas.
- 3. One member. The Mayor of Topeka or one of the members of the governing body of the city designated by the Mayor.
- 4. One member from the State Board of Regents selected annually by the State Board.
- One member: appointed by the County Commission. The appointee must be a resident of the county but not of the city.

The Board of Regents has all powers and authority, express and implied to govern the University subject to applicable federal and state law. The specific enabling statutes applicable to the membership of the Board of Regents and its duties are found at K.S.A. 13-13a03.